01 Apr

Boys & Girls Clubs of Middle Tennessee (BGCMT) is proud to announce Andy Marshall as the recipient of the 7th “Ed Moody Award of Excellence.” Marshall, owner of A. Marshall Hospitality and a Boys & Girls Clubs alumnus will accept the award at the 30th Annual Steak & Burger Dinner.

A Tennessee native, Andy Marshall grew up in the grocery business. At age 26, he purchased his first grocery store – an investment that quickly led to four additional locations, and his being named President of the Tennessee Grocers Association and the Piggly Wiggly Association. In 1998, Marshall sold those stores and bought Puckett’s, a small grocery store in the village of Leiper’s Fork, Tennessee. He launched a formal dinner and music program to enhance the shop and complement the town’s roots.

Today, Marshall has expanded A. Marshall Hospitality to encompass Puckett’s Grocery locations in downtown Franklin, downtown Nashville, downtown Columbia, downtown Chattanooga, and downtown Murfreesboro; Puckett’s Boat House in downtown Franklin; Puckett’s Trolley, the brand’s mobile food venue; Puckett’s Events & Catering; Scout’s Pub, an upscale modern pub concept, in the Franklin community of Westhaven; and Deacon’s New South in downtown Nashville. Each family-owned eatery focuses on providing friends new and old with home-cooked food and Southern hospitality, the Marshall way.

BGCMT’s “Ed Moody Award of Excellence” honors the revered Williamson County businessman, who helped establish the Franklin Boys & Girls Club in 1989. Moody co-founded Moody Tire Co. after World War II with his brother, Tom. Past recipients are: Cathy & Loy Hardcastle; Robert Blair; Sandra Sullivan; Peggy Smith; David Edge & Clay Mackey; and Ron Crutcher.